Winter Animals by Ashani Lewis

Winter Animals by Ashani Lewis

  • £18.99
    Unit price per 

'Excellent . . . Ashani Lewis is superbly talented.' Katherine Rundell

Be one of the first to discover this award-winning writer's decadent and addictive debut, a must-read for fans of The Secret History and White Lotus.

In one of America's Happiest Cities, thirty-eight-year-old Elen is trapped under the shadow of the snow-capped Cascade Mountains. Her husband has left her.

Her belongings are in the boot of her car. Her days are filled mostly with silence and drinking. When she meets four English teenagers in an empty bar, she is enamoured.

Luka, Clover, George and Lyn are wealthy squatters, drifting between ski resorts and breaking into empty AirBnBs. When they bring Elen into their fold - and into their messy, entangled relationships - she senses a violent secret that fuels the four's never-ending disappearing act. Dazzling, cultish, and intensely committed to creating their own utopia, they force Elen to ruminate on the irresistible pull of bright young things.

She doesn't understand what they want from her, but how can she leave when she has nowhere else to go?

A dark meditation on the dangers and seductive power of youthful idealism, and the slippages between friendship and love, Winter Animals is an extraordinary debut examining freedom, friendship, desire and excess.

'Winter Animals is a remarkable novel: atmospheric as hell, beautiful, and delightfully intelligent . . . Think The Secret History written by Raven Leilani. I devoured it and am left wanting more, Ashani Lewis is a rare talent!' Jenny Mustard, author of Okay Days

Hardback / 240 pages